France: coverage and visiting review

176 recorded residences: 49 initial entries reviewed and 127 catalogue additions. Review date: 2026-10-10.

What this review means

The catalogue covers royal, imperial, princely and aristocratic residences in present-day France. Fortified sites are included when residential use is material. Avignon is identified explicitly as a papal palace and Perpignan as a residence of the kings of Mallorca.

This is not a complete inventory of every French château or noble house. The review compared the existing list with official monument operators, national museums, municipal and departmental heritage services, and selected major private estates. It identifies concrete omissions; it does not supply a denominator for a national completeness percentage.

A published visitor route does not guarantee opening on a particular day. Garden access, guided apartments, museum collections and reconstructed rooms are distinguished. No annual attendance figures have been inferred from opening hours or building dimensions.

Remaining uncertainty

Current access to the surviving historic wing at Neuilly remains unconfirmed; a past Heritage Days tour is documented, but chapel opening is not palace access. La Muette and Bellevue are now identified as demolished palaces with no original interiors to visit. Fontainebleau was checked through official ticketing and Chinon through an official partner’s combined-pass offer; their direct pages could not be read.

Fourteen further residences screened

All fourteen research leads named in the previous review have now been added as documented catalogue entries. Nancy is closed for renovation. Dampierre’s interior visitor offer is supported by the departmental tourism service; direct confirmation from its unreadable operator website remains outstanding.

Eight further regional residences

These additions distinguish surviving wings, guided interiors, seasonal group access and occupied private homes. The Strasbourg Palais Rohan is a prince-bishop residence; Sully in Burgundy is distinct from Sully-sur-Loire.

Four further residences: patrons and interiors

Germolles, Drée, Fléchères and Bournazel have documented guided interior routes. Seasonal schedules and separate garden tickets are distinguished. Drée’s official calendar contains conflicting late-October and overlapping June dates; confirm the intended date with the operator.

Three Norman residences

Beaumesnil, Harcourt in the Eure and Champ de Bataille add furnished rooms, a closed interior under conservation, and modern restoration and recreation to the catalogue. Each entry explains the building’s history separately from its current visitor offer.

Two Breton residences

Josselin adds a Rohan family residence with different interior routes by ticket. Trévarez adds a Belle Époque elite residence with partial access, restored rooms and interpretation of wartime losses. Neither entry implies access to every room.

Two Breton residences

Suscinio adds a ducal residence with archaeological displays and reconstructed interpretation; access is supported by the official local tourism office, while the operator calendar still needs direct verification. Kerjean adds a Barbier family residence with a seasonal museum route and separately accessible park.

Ten significant residences: first large review

Ten new entries cover royal connections, ducal patronage, aristocratic interiors and an imperial restoration. Vizille currently has grounds access only while its museum is closed for works. Serrant requires guided admission for its library and prestige bedrooms. Montgeoffroy distinguishes its April–September interior season from autumn events. This is the first of three planned large editorial passes, not a claim of national completeness.

Ten significant residences: second large review

New entries strengthen the Loire, Aquitaine and Auvergne coverage. Brézé restricts its Renaissance wing to guided visits; Cazeneuve distinguishes furnished apartments from the independent ticket and has inconsistent autumn calendar years. Montsoreau offers contemporary art inside a historic residence. Bouges and Aulteribe explain the later formation of their interior collections. Two of three planned large editorial passes are now complete; national completeness is not claimed.

Ten significant residences: third large review

New entries include Anet, Beauregard and Rochechouart, with particular attention to surviving decoration and patronage. Ainay-le-Vieil has announced annual closure; Bénouville has only documented exceptional restoration-site access, with no next date confirmed. Effiat visiting evidence comes from official tourism, while its operator website was unreadable. This was the third large pass; the fourth is recorded below.

Ten significant residences: fourth large review

La Motte-Tilly, Sassenage, Ripaille and seven further residences now have substantial catalogue entries. Pesteils has a temporary autumn closure; Fontaine-Henry reopening needs direct confirmation. Couches excludes the inhabited main dwelling. The previous four passes have been extended by the v77 review below.

Twenty significant residences: expanded regional review

The previous three named candidates — Lascaris, Lassay and Sainte-Suzanne — are now catalogued, together with seventeen further residences. La Barben is closed for restoration; Sainte-Suzanne’s keep is closed while its logis remains accessible. Sedan has a dated 2023 attendance figure. The scope and evidence limitations below remain explicit.

Further regional review: ten residences

Montluçon reopened as a museum in November 2025. Pontivy remains subject to restoration and booked guided access; Gaillon’s published 2026 season has ended. At Nevers, guided apartment access is distinct from the public heritage space. Moulins winter tours run on the first Friday of the month.

La Verdière remains a research candidate pending confirmation of its current operator calendar. Earlier access questions remain documented in the individual records. This release adds descriptions of owners and interiors, but no new standalone biographies or annual attendance figures.

Coverage still to establish

The catalogue now contains 1144 residences. Completing the named research candidates does not establish national completeness. A systematic comparison with regional heritage inventories and private urban residences is still needed. No percentage of national coverage is claimed.

The 49 existing entries

ResidenceAccessFinding and source
Palais de la CitéSome areas accessiblePublic admission covers the Conciergerie visitor route in surviving parts of the medieval royal palace, not the entire Palais de Justice. Standard hours are 09:30–18:00, last entry 17:30; closed 1 May and 25 December. Check exceptional closures and security arrangements before travelling. Source 1
Louvre PalaceRegular public visitsVisit the palace through the Louvre museum route. Closed Tuesdays, 1 January, 1 May and 25 December. Standard hours are 09:00–18:00, extended to 21:00 on Wednesdays and Fridays; last entry is one hour before closing. Gallery closures can restrict the route. Source 1
Tuileries PalaceExterior / grounds onlyThe Tuileries Garden is free to enter on its seasonal calendar. This is a garden and former-palace-site visit: the destroyed palace has no surviving interior route. Visitors must leave the garden before the published closing time; special events can change hours. Source 1
Château de VincennesRegular public visitsThe standard ticket covers the Sainte-Chapelle and lower levels of the keep. Do not imply that all military or administrative buildings are open. Source 1
Château de Saint-Germain-en-LayeRegular public visitsThe château houses the National Archaeology Museum. Check room openings before travel; the operator also reports restrictions in parts of the estate. Source 1
Château-Neuf de Saint-Germain-en-LayeRemains / former-palace siteThe municipality documents walks around scattered remains of the vanished Château-Neuf, including the Rampe des Grottes and Pavillon Henri-IV. The cited walk took place on 28 March 2026; it is evidence of a past route, not a currently bookable tour or guaranteed entry inside surviving private buildings. Check for a new event before planning a guided visit. Source 1
Palace of FontainebleauRegular public visitsThe official ticketing service advertises the palace visitor circuit and separate guided experiences. The main website could not be read in this review; ticket inventory was not tested. Source 1
Royal Château of BloisRegular public visitsThe château operates a public visitor route and official ticketing. Special guided tours can include spaces normally closed to general admission; sound-and-light performances have their own dates and ticket conditions. Choose the intended visit in the current programme. Source 1
Royal Château of AmboiseRegular public visitsThe operator offers independent visits with the included visitor guide or HistoPad, as well as guided visits. The October calendar lists 09:00–17:30. The public entrance is via the Montée de l’Emir Abd El Kader from Place Michel Debré; check seasonal hours and the selected tour. Source 1
Château de ChambordRegular public visitsThe 2026 calendar gives château opening of 09:00–18:00 through 25 October, then 09:00–17:00 from 26 October to 18 December. Closed 1 January and 25 December; selected low-season Mondays also close. Check the dated calendar and whether extra estate activities are included in your ticket. Source 1
Palace of VersaillesRegular public visitsThe Palace opens at 09:00 and normally closes on Mondays, 1 January, 1 May and 25 December. A Palace-only ticket does not include the Trianon estate. Gardens have separate conditions on musical-garden and fountain-show days; select the ticket covering your intended route. Source 1
Grand TrianonRegular public visitsThe Grand Trianon belongs to the Trianon estate visitor route, normally opening at noon and closing on Mondays, 1 January, 1 May and 25 December. Check seasonal closing times. Palace-only admission to Versailles does not include this estate. Source 1
Petit TrianonRegular public visitsThe Petit Trianon is included in the Trianon estate visitor offer, normally opening at noon. The operator announces a 10:00 opening for Petit Trianon alone from 17 October to 1 November 2026 during the Coppola exhibition. Monday and holiday closures apply; confirm exhibition and ticket conditions. Source 1
Château de MarlyRemains / former-palace siteThe royal château was destroyed; the surviving park is open to pedestrians daily on the Versailles estate calendar. The page currently lists 07:00–19:00, last admission 18:30, with detailed seasonal exceptions. The separate museum at the entrance explains the lost residence and has its own admission arrangements. Source 1
Château de CompiègneRegular public visitsThe imperial apartments are listed for independent visits 10:00–18:00 except Tuesdays. The Second Empire and Empress museums open Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday mornings; the National Car Museum opens on those afternoons. Closed 1 January, 1 May and 25 December. Not every museum section is available throughout the day. Source 1
Château de RambouilletRegular public visitsThe operator currently lists château visits 10:00–13:00 and 14:00–17:00, with the Queen’s Dairy and Shell Cottage open in the afternoon. Park hours are longer and do not establish interior access. Check the current calendar and coverage of the selected ticket. Source 1
Château de ChoisyExterior / grounds onlyThe municipality identifies Parc de la Mairie as the site of the former royal château, with two surviving eighteenth-century guard pavilions at the entrance. The visitor destination is the public park and exterior remains; this source does not offer a royal-palace interior tour. Source 1
Château de La MuetteNo public palace-interior visitThe royal Château de La Muette no longer survives. The OECD history distinguishes it from the later château used by the organisation. Access to a modern institutional event should not be presented as admission to the lost royal residence; this historical source provides no public royal-palace tour. Source 1
Château de BellevueNo public palace-interior visitThe Ministry of Culture records the demolition of Bellevue in 1823. There are no original palace interiors to visit; museum objects associated with the estate should not be confused with an open palace. Source 1
Château de Saint-HubertNo public palace-interior visitThe official local tourism office states that only the park and a lodge remain and that these are private property. The former royal château is not a public interior attraction. Nearby walks around the ponds do not grant entry to the estate. Source 1
Château de Saint-CloudExterior / grounds onlyThe national domain offers free park entry to pedestrians and cyclists; motor vehicles are charged separately. The château has disappeared. Its history is presented in a museum in the former lower stables, with a separate timetable. Use the seasonal park calendar and check any museum visit independently. Source 1
Château de MeudonSpecial events onlyThe Observatory admits visitors to Meudon only on announced open days or other exceptional events. Its stated recurring occasion is the October science festival; this does not constitute a daily palace-interior programme. Check a new event announcement and the areas included before travelling. Source 1
Château de MadridNo public palace-interior visitParis Musées confirms that François I’s Château de Madrid was destroyed during the Revolution. There are no surviving palace interiors to visit under this record. Source 1
Palais-RoyalExterior / grounds onlyThe national domain provides free independent visits to the garden and outdoor spaces. Published hours are 08:00–22:30 in April–September and 08:00–20:30 in October–March. This does not confirm routine access to the palace’s institutional interiors. Source 1
Château de NeuillyAccess not confirmedThe congregation’s September 2026 Heritage Days notice confirms a visit to the Notre-Dame de Bonne Délivrance chapel only. It does not confirm public entry to the surviving historic château wing. The past chapel event and the motherhouse’s group hospitality are not a verified palace-interior tour. Source 1 Source 2 Source 3
Château d'EuSeasonal visitsThe individual-visitor season runs 15 March–8 November 2026, 10:00–12:00 and 14:00–18:00, closed Tuesdays and Friday mornings. Only the museum ground floor is wheelchair-accessible. The operator separately offers requested guided group visits, including outside the individual season. Source 1
Château de MalmaisonRegular public visitsThe château museum remains a public visitor site, but its second floor is temporarily closed until further notice. Check the official room-access notice. Source 1
Élysée PalaceSpecial events onlyThe presidency confirms palace visits for Heritage Days on 19–20 September 2026, with advance registration, an invitation and photo ID required. That event has passed and is not a standing admission offer. Maison Élysée across the street is a separate visitor centre; wait for a new palace event announcement. Source 1 Source 2
Château de Villers-CotterêtsRegular public visitsThe restored royal château houses the Cité internationale de la langue française and its cultural visitor route. Normally closed Mondays, except Easter and Pentecost Mondays, and on 1 January, 1 May and 25 December. Last admission is one hour before closing. This is not a complete furnished royal-apartment route. Source 1
Luxembourg PalaceSpecial events onlyThe Senate permits collective palace visits arranged at the request of a senator; prospective groups should contact their senator. It also opens for announced September Heritage Days. There is no ordinary walk-in palace museum ticket, and entry to the Luxembourg Garden does not include the palace. Source 1
Château de PauGuided visits onlyPalace interiors are accessible only on a guided visit of about one hour. Individual visitors can buy a ticket on site and join the next available departure without advance reservation, subject to capacity. Groups require a reservation; heat-related afternoon closures may occur. Source 1
Château de Plessis-lès-ToursExterior / grounds onlyThe municipality confirms public access to the park. Announced heritage walks take place in the grounds and do not establish regular admission to the surviving château interiors. Check the current municipal programme for any separately advertised interior visit. Source 1
Château de ChinonRegular public visitsPublic visits are supported by the official Villandry operator’s combined pass with Chinon. The direct Chinon page could not be read in this review; check the fortress’s own timetable before travel. Source 1 Source 2
Château de LochesRegular public visitsThe Cité royale offers visits to the royal residence and keep. Opening hours vary seasonally, with closure on 1 January and 25 December and ticket sales ending 30 minutes before closing. Check the route and timetable for both parts of the site. Source 1
Château de ChenonceauRegular public visitsThe château and gardens welcome visitors daily throughout the year on a seasonal timetable. Choose the admission product and visitor-guide or audio-guide option appropriate to your visit, and check the dated opening calendar before travelling. Source 1
Château de ChantillyRegular public visitsA timed ticket is required for château entry. The private apartments are a separate guided visit; park and stables do not use the same time-slot arrangement. Source 1 Source 2 Source 3
Château de Vaux-le-VicomteSeasonal visitsThe main 2026 season runs from 14 March to 1 November, opening daily at 10:00; 17:30 is the last ticket-office admission, not necessarily the estate closing time. Candlelit evenings and the Christmas programme have separate dates and admission conditions. Source 1
Hôtel de SoubiseRegular public visitsThe National Archives museum offers free independent admission to the Hôtel de Soubise, including its museum route and princely salons. It closes Tuesdays, 1 January, 1 May and 25 December. The entrance is through the central courtyard door; admission does not open every Archives building. Source 1
Hôtel de RohanGuided visits onlyOnly Archives nationales guided visits to the reinstalled Chancellerie d’Orléans decorations are offered. The first-floor salons and courtyards are closed during restoration works. Source 1
Château de MaisonsRegular public visitsThe château opens on a seasonal timetable and closes Tuesdays, 1 January, 1 May and 25 December. The winter timetable includes a midday break; last admission is 30 minutes before closing. Earlier closure applies on 24 and 31 December. Source 1
Château de SceauxRegular public visitsThe château museum has regular opening; the park, Petit Château, Orangerie and Pavillon de l’Aurore have different arrangements. Do not imply that every estate interior is open with one visit. Source 1
Hôtel de SullyExterior / grounds onlyThe Centre des monuments nationaux lists public access to the courtyard and garden, normally 09:00–19:00. This outdoor route does not establish daily access to the historic apartments. Any interior tour must be confirmed against a current announcement rather than an older institutional programme. Source 1
Château de Champs-sur-MarneRegular public visitsThe château and park have regular public opening except Tuesdays. The operator warns of event-related closures, so check the notice for the visit date. Source 1
Château de BreteuilGuided visits onlyChâteau interiors are visited with a guide; the departure time is assigned on arrival. The park opens earlier than the house, and weekday, weekend and school-holiday tour schedules differ. Garden and fairy-tale admission alone does not include the château interiors. Source 1
Château de La Roche-GuyonSeasonal visitsThe operator lists daily opening from 1 April to 1 November 2026, 10:00–18:00, and a winter period from 5 December to 3 January 2027, 13:00–19:00. Ticket sales finish one hour before closing. Do not assume opening between these advertised periods. Source 1
Château de BalleroyGuided visits onlyAt this review the operator announces temporary closure until 15 October, followed by reopening from 16 October to 1 November on a restricted schedule. The notice does not state its year, so confirm reopening directly before travelling. Normally the château is accessible only on a guided tour of about 45 minutes. Source 1
Château de CarrougesRegular public visitsA ticket is required for the upstairs apartments. The park, courtyard, lower keep, hunting rooms and some exhibitions have free independent access. Last admission is 30 minutes before closing. Closed 1 January, 1 May, 1 and 11 November and 25 December; holiday-eve hours can be shorter. Source 1
Palais Jacques CœurRegular public visitsAdmission offers an independent or guided palace visit. The low-season timetable includes a midday break; last entry is 45 minutes before closing. Closed 1 January, 1 May, 1 and 11 November and 25 December. Check the current guided departures. Source 1
Château de ChamerollesSeasonal visitsThe château offers independent visits and scheduled guided activities, with seasonal hours and winter closures. Its practical-information page contains mixed calendar years, so the exact date and weekday of a planned visit need confirmation. The stated last ticket admission is 30 minutes before closing. Source 1

The previous 24 additions

Read the new catalogue entries and official sources

Current scope and remaining evidence limits

Lascaris, Lassay and Sainte-Suzanne, previously listed here as candidates, are now fully described catalogue records. Twenty additions brought France to 1144 residences in v77; ten further records bring v78 to 176. All have official links and a specific access explanation; no thin standalone palace pages were created.

The catalogue includes royal, princely and aristocratic homes, later museum conversions and significant surviving remains. It is a curated selection, not a claim to list every French château. Regional inventories and urban aristocratic houses have not yet been compared exhaustively, so no national completion percentage is given.

Palais Fesch was screened but excluded: a qualifying residential use was not established. The Maison Bonaparte is included as a family home, not labelled an imperial state palace.

Access that needs particular care

Date-specific or indirect-source questions remain at Neuilly, Bénouville, Cazeneuve, Montsoreau, Suscinio, Dampierre, Effiat, Ripaille, Fontaine-Henry and Vendeuvre. Their individual records state the limits; a seasonal label is not a promise that a site is open today.

Dated attendance

Recorded annual attendance — 2023: 130,000 visitors. Reported by the French Ministry of Culture on 10 June 2025. The counting method is not stated; no values for other years are inferred.

Owners and interior history are described in the new catalogue entries. No new standalone owner biographies or interior essays were created in this release.

Owners and patrons: four new biographies

Montesquieu, Georges d’Amboise, Louis II of Bourbon and Anne of France now have sourced biographies and links to their residences. France has 48 people and family entries, including 21 sourced short biographies. The residence catalogue remains at 176 entries; national completeness has not been established.

Explore people in France

Owners and patrons: four new biographies

Talleyrand, Jean Breton, Joachim Carvallo and Ann Coleman now have sourced biographies and links to their residences. France has 52 people and family entries, including 25 sourced short biographies. The residence catalogue remains at 176 entries; national completeness has not been established.

Explore people in France

Owners and patrons: two new biographies

Simone de Bastard and Jean-Baptiste César de Sarcus now have sourced biographies and links to their residences. France has 54 people and family entries, including 27 sourced short biographies. The residence catalogue remains at 176 entries; national completeness has not been established.

Explore people in France

Owners and patrons: two new biographies

Paul Ardier and Jeanne Say now have sourced biographies and links to their residences. France has 56 people and family entries, including 29 sourced short biographies. The residence catalogue remains at 176 entries; national completeness has not been established.

Explore people in France